What happens next - Reisverslag uit Marbella, Spanje van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu What happens next - Reisverslag uit Marbella, Spanje van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu

What happens next

Door: Desire

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Desire

31 Augustus 2008 | Spanje, Marbella

It has been a couple of days since my last message. Therefore I’ll try to make this one a long one. So, here comes…

I am starting to enjoy Spain more and more. Not that I didn’t enjoy it in the beginning, but I am getting more capable of fitting in. Well, I do already fit in as it comes to looks, as I could pass for a Spanish person, but I mean mentality wise. For example the siesta? Fantastic! Should implement that in Holland as well ;) As mentioned before, most people here are actually not even from Marbella or even Spanish. At the moment most of them are English or German. They really behave like tourists and that can be a pain in the neck, but the Spanish people are actually not too bad! The ones I met at least

My Spanish is slowly improving. I didn’t expect that after 2,5 weeks I was already able to speak fluently, however, I am getting there. Sort of.. When it comes to talking, I do still stutter, and am sometimes scared to actually speak the language, as I do not want to sound like a tourist who thinks he/she knows what he/she is saying, but saying something really stupid. Haha, well I am managing. Usually I am able to ask a question (and if it to me sounds right to me, I’m usually very proud of myself haha), but when they answer I am usually lost. (However, this is not only the problem in Spain, also in Holland. My friend Zenaida knows of this problem: Where is the bathroom? Uhm, white house, on the right?!) They talk way too fast! Usually I am capable of understanding some words and able to make a sentence. Not always, but as I already mentioned, I am working on it! What helps in this process is stop saying: Perdona senor(a), solo hablo un poquito de espanol, hablas ingles?! ;)

I mentioned that when Robbert leaves I would get his room. However, there have been some changes as to the room. At first I was considering keeping the room I had, as it is 100 Euros cheaper than Robbert’s room and I actually am not that often in my room, usually only to sleep and get dressed/changed. However, as Heather is leaving, all her stuff, which is now is Scott’s room, will be but in mine, if done so I won’t be able to move haha. But I wasn’t to sure about taking Robbert’s room, as it is right next to the living room. My room, and also Diana’s room (who left) are separated from the living room and closer to the bathroom. Now Robbert and Diana left so I was able to pick either of the rooms. I choose Diana’s room as it has a nice shape and is not directly connected to the living room. And you know what? It has a window! However, the view, I look into the person’s room living across from me. But shouldn’t complain, as in my first room I had a window, which I couldn’t even get to! You will find pictures at the bottom of this message of my new room.

Last Sunday, together with Josefa and Scott, I went to the Philippine church again. However, it was a different service at a different location, as it was a special day. What was so special? We had a wedding and a baptism, and all of it on the beach! The wedding was really nice. You can see a picture of the married couple below. The baptism was nice as well! It started off with 3 planned baptisms, but eventually it were 7, as 4 were spontaneous. After the wedding and baptisms there was again a lot of (very nice and tasty) food, and this time there was also a wedding cake!

I think I am getting the hang of work and start enjoying it more. Robbert left the company last week Wednesday, so I have been working alone now for 1,5 week. Wasn’t quite sure if I was able to manage all by my self, as the work wasn’t that simple, at least, that is what I thought. When Robbert was still there, I was able to ask him questions as the other two guys were really busy, and I didn’t want to disturb them. But luckily even though Robbert left, the two guys really help me out. What was funny to see was that when Robbert was still working, they would talk to him more (and not even look at me) which isn’t that weird, as I am new and they don’t know me, but still. It did bother me a little bit. When it was Robbert’s last day, the four of us went to have lunch together. At that lunch the guys started to warm up to me, which was great. I even found out that one of the guys used to live in Breda, so that is very funny. This same guy even invited me to play Paddel with him and his friends if I ever felt like it. So I accepted the offer, and will do it soon I think! And yes, I did mention I sucked at the game haha!

Let me get back to the tasks I am to perform at work. I am almost capable of doing the administration on my own which includes sending invoices; finalize payments, etc. That is going quite fine. For my marketing assignment I am to do a lot with E-marketing, which is a little difficult, as I have no background knowledge in that area, but I am working on it. What I have been working on this week is an advertisement for in a newspaper/magazine, as they had 3 different ones, which didn’t include the correct contact details! I will not show you the advertisement just yet, however if the boss approves, I will ;) I enjoyed making it and have also been working on a brochure. As for the E-marketing I have been arranging (continuing what Robbert started) with translations for the Internet site, and link exchange. Therefore, a lot of e-mail sending is necessary. Next week the boss from Holland will visit, and the week after that the ex-boss is will visit. That might be interesting!

I by the way, still walk to work everyday, which I also still enjoy. The nice thing about it is running into the same people on the way to and back from work and passing the fruit shop. Really love that store. I am able to buy 4 huge pieces of fruit for less than €1,50. Was planning on taking a picture of it, but I forgot. Will do it next week. The funny thing is that since I have bought my fruit at that place for the last 2,5 weeks, they know what I buy, so when I walk in, they already start packing my fruit! The same goes for the place where I have lunch. I eat my fruit at the office first, but will get a coffee and/or cappuccino at the diner. When sitting at a table with the movers of our company (who are very nice people) I do not have to order anything. They bring my coffee without me even asking for it! Guess I’m not that original in food and drinks haha.

Tennis wise, unfortunately, there is little progress. I will be taking classes (if all is well, starting coming week), which will be private classes of 50 minutes, which sure isn’t bad! I will also be taking part in a sort of tournament, which is from September till December, so that should be interesting. Also, I am going to visit a tournament with well-known tennis players! It is a tennis match, Spain vs. Argentina, with Ferrero and Mayo. It will be on the 6th and 7th of September, so 2 days. It will be held at the tennis club at which I want to become a member. Bought a ticket, which will give me a good seat, which cost me €126,10! However, I may give myself a treat one in a while and it is for two days!

Yesterday, together with Scott, I went to Puerto Banus. That is a town with people who have way too much money haha! The boats and cars they have there!! Wow, it is surely over the top! However, very nice to look around. We were able to see some boat parking skills. Very impressive. They sure do know how to park big boats! :D We saw some big nice cars as well. You will be able to see that with my first salary payment I bought a new car ;) Like it?

Didn’t go to the beach this week, as I got a bad sunburn last week Saturday. I had been stupid that day. Usually I go to the beach after work from say 7 to 9, no need for sun block. However Saturday I went to the beach from 2 to 5, thinking exactly the same! At the beach it was fine, but later that evening, it hurt like hell! My back was glowing red! Luckily, a week later, it is now fine again! And yes it does have some colour, as you can see on one of the pictures ;)

In the evenings I usually go for a coffee with Scott and Josefa near to the beach at a place where they have big, not too expensive cups of cappuccino. The chairs there are very comfortable. It is also fun to go people (guy) watching there. However, the guy part, most Spaniards are quite small! Haha. And haven’t seen anything interesting so far ;)

Well folks, that was a ‘short’ update of my week. You will here from me again soon


  • 31 Augustus 2008 - 19:13

    Carla:

    Mom!!! U have atan!!! hahah now we may actually look like were related!!! hahah loved reading ur post, im glad to hear ur liking it there!!! Even though I miss u very much, It is very comforting to see that ur enjoying urself!!! Tons of kisses!!!! Keep on enjoying that Spanish Sun!!
    Ur evil daughter ;)

  • 01 September 2008 - 03:34

    Claudia:

    Hey Des! So nice to hear that everything is fine overthere and that you are starting to really enjoy yourself and feel at comfort! I actually woke up 10 mins ago because it will be my first day. It will ben interesting, however, the travelling time suck (1 hr 55 mins) but I have flexible working hours and can start between 630-930 and finish between 3-630. However, it is not possible for me to start before 8. As for me with sports, I have the opportunity to take free classes at the gym and sports center at Nike. I can tennis, football, volleyball, basketball, running, gym and aerobic lessons. In addition, we have a healthy food cafetaria and a Starbucks(for which Ill need the gym;)) hahaha. Well, keep us posted and have fun there!
    Besos (K)

  • 09 September 2008 - 11:26

    Nadine:

    Love the car, but watch out for that sun!!! It sounds like you're having a gret expierence Dee. I'm proud of your daringness and gusto kido. God bless you. Go ahead and get the most out of this you can get. Jonathan would like to learn spanish, he want's to get Musty in spanish,haha. I am jealous though, i really wish I could speak my dad's language. nadine

  • 12 September 2008 - 20:32

    ZB:

    Well I finally read your blog even though you already told me the most details ;)
    And thnx for mentioning my name lol & yes you are very bad with directions: The white house on the right. Well chica I'm going to my bed. This side (rdam) everything is going pretty ok also work ect. ttys!! Do still miss you my busy buddy ;)

    Besitos y te quiero

    Z

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Desire

Actief sinds 11 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 304
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22698

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 30 Maart 2014

Guatemala 2014

12 Januari 2013 - 24 Maart 2013

Guatemalan adventures

14 Augustus 2009 - 20 Januari 2010

Study Abroad USA

12 Augustus 2008 - 03 Februari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: