First couple of days. - Reisverslag uit Antigua, Guatemala van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu First couple of days. - Reisverslag uit Antigua, Guatemala van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu

First couple of days.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Desire

17 Januari 2013 | Guatemala, Antigua

Holla amigos!

Let me start off with saying I arrived safely in Antigua Guatemala. The flight was long, but doable. But when finally arriving in Guatemala City at 10:30 P.M. I was quite exhausted. I got picked up by someone holding a name sign with my name on it. I felt so special haha! The drive to Antigua was approximately a small hour. At arrival at my new home I met the landlady, her son and one guest. It all looked very primitive, but that was because I was tired. It is not so bad I concluded the next day. Only things I have to get used to are not throwing used toilet paper in the toilet, but in an open trashcan next to the toilet, and using water from a tub for washing my hand and brushing my teeth.

Sunday morning someone from the school picked me up to give me a tour of Antigua. I had this tour together with an 18 year old from Germany. After the tour, the kid and I had a Guatemalan breakfast and walked some more through town. It is actually quite small, but nice.

Monday I had my first Spanish class. The class is from 8 till 12 A.M. with a half hour break. My teacher’s name is Celini. I like her a lot! We talk and laugh a lot which I think is really good, and we also discuss some grammar. After class I had lunch at my home. My landlady serves us 3 meals a day, but those portions are huge! So had to ask her (multiple times) to downsize my portions. Apparently those are normal portions, but she also told me that is the reason why the people here are (a bit) fat, haha. But the food is nice, healthy but different. I like it though. In the evening I toke a free salsa class. It was a lot of fun so I also went the next day! Will do so again next week.

The males here (doesn’t matter what age) look at me a lot with a weird grin on their face when greeting me. First I thought I might have egg on my face or something, but that wasn’t the case. They do the bad kind of flirting. The type that usually doesn’t even work haha! So I asked my teacher about this. She said that the guys here like foreign girls because for starters they are pale compared to the women here. Secondly they wear more revealing clothes. And thirdly if a Guatamaltees guy can get a foreign girl apparently he gets a better image (hij stijgt in aanzien). Luckily Celini told me how to act and respond so I wouldn’t have any problems, and it actually works haha!

Wednesday my stomach was really upset. I went to school, but had to go to bed afterwards. Next door they are rebuilding a part of the house so when all of a sudden the house was shaking, I thought it was because of that! But apparently it was a small earthquake! It wasn’t a strong one though.

Today I am feeling a lot better but will rest a bit more, because I will go on a three-day trip this weekend organized by the school. We will go see Tikal, Rio Dulce and Livingstone. Very much looking forward to it! So will tell you more about this next week I think.

Of course I can write a lot more, but won’t do so. Else this message will become a bit too long! But if anyone of you has some specific questions or just wants some more details, just let me know!

Till next time..

  • 17 Januari 2013 - 23:16

    Mama:

    Nice!
    XXX

  • 17 Januari 2013 - 23:38

    Marian Van Der Heemst:

    Hoi De,
    fijn dat je goed bent aangekomen. Hoe lang heb je in uren over de reis gedaan?

    Wat is de samenstelling van jouw gastgezin?
    Slaap jij met iemand anders op jouw kamer? Ik dacht op de foto een tweede bed te zien.

    Lijkt het eten op Mexicaans eten?

    Ik vond het leuk om de foto's te zien. Ik begin een beetje me voor te stellen hoe je daar leeft.
    Ik ben ook heel benieuwd hoe de mensen er daar uit zien. Kan je daar iets van laten zien.

    Veel vragen hè?

    Ik ben benieuwd naar jouw weekendtripje.
    Veel plezier.
    Xx Marian

  • 18 Januari 2013 - 07:39

    Frank:

    Hey Desire, als je al die kerels neer blijft hoeken wordt het nooit wat met een local :-)! Goed om te lezen, dat je het naar je zin hebt! En die maag trekt wel weer bij!

    Buenos dias y hasta luego!

  • 18 Januari 2013 - 07:50

    Nadine Rohoman:

    Hi Dee, great to hear everything is going well. I'd like to know what those tips were about keeping the guys from flirting so much. I think that 's very interesting cultural info. I'll let Oma see the site today.
    love you sweetheart. tante Nadine

  • 18 Januari 2013 - 11:43

    Uncle Azad:

    Hi Dee,
    Glad to hear that all is well. Enjoy your stay. I look forward to hearing more.

    Love, Uncle Azad

  • 18 Januari 2013 - 11:56

    Anna:

    Sounds like a good Guatemalan(?) start of the trip!
    Can you make some photos of the house?!

  • 19 Januari 2013 - 19:12

    Oma Lilia:

    hallo deetje na je verslag gelezen te hebben heb ik een vraag ik wou graag weten wat de menus zijn van de maaltijden wat de mannen betreft iemand zei eens men are a race apart sommige denken dat ze gods gift to woman zijn terwil het juist andersom is!! we should therefore be handeld with utmost care and respect. wel lieve dee hier eindig ik met de beste wensen voor een goeie tijd in guatemala en godt rijkte zegen met xxxxx en brassas van oma lilia

  • 21 Januari 2013 - 13:10

    Maaike:

    Mooi uitzicht joh!:-) Hopelijk een leuke weekend trip gehad?! En natuurlijk hoop ik dat je je weer lekker fit voelt. Je mag als je thuis bent mij nog wel wat salsa leren :D Fijne week!

  • 23 Januari 2013 - 17:20

    Fay:

    Dees!

    Leuk om wat van je te lezen, ben benieuwd naar al je belevenissen!

    Kus Fay

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Desire

Actief sinds 11 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 262
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22692

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 30 Maart 2014

Guatemala 2014

12 Januari 2013 - 24 Maart 2013

Guatemalan adventures

14 Augustus 2009 - 20 Januari 2010

Study Abroad USA

12 Augustus 2008 - 03 Februari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: