First week - first 2 days ;) - Reisverslag uit Marbella, Spanje van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu First week - first 2 days ;) - Reisverslag uit Marbella, Spanje van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu

First week - first 2 days ;)

Door: Desire

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Desire

17 Augustus 2008 | Spanje, Marbella

My first week in Marbella went by quite fast! I must say, I do enjoy it here. The weather is warm, but still doable. However, there is a nice breeze, which makes it perfect! The people I live with are really nice and friendly. The people of Marbella however, I am not quite sure about. But this might be because the city is now stumped with tourists. Guess this will be over in say a couple of weeks. Let’s see how the people of Marbella behave then! ;)

Work so far has been fine. I expected to work for 3 days this week. However, due to a Catholic holiday, we were off on Friday. The work itself is fine. I am getting to know the company, and Robbert is explaining me numerous of things. As mentioned before, it is a same type of company as in the Netherlands, but the way of working and dealing with certain matters is completely different and something I really have to get used to. Robbert will probably be at the company till coming Wednesday, and then I’m all on my own! But should be able to manage

Most of you know I have a thing for fruit and coffee, well actually for more stuff, such as my breakfast cereal and tea as well, but I’ll get to that. On the way to work there is this fruit/vegetable store, which sells enormous pieces of fruit! It is seriously fantastic! You could say that one piece of fruit here is the same as 2 pieces of fruit in Holland. I buy these enormous apples, nectarines and peaches, mmmm :D The coffee they serve in really small cups, and are really strong even though they say it is café con leche. Their cappuccino on the other hand is quite nice. But of course I bought some Nescafe cappuccino from the supermarket to make my own at home :P I also bought myself a big teacup. Something’s I just can’t do without!

As I mentioned to some of you I was planning on finding a tennis club. My house mom said there was one near to where she lives, so took a map and I was on my way to find it. However, when I got there I noticed it wasn’t a tennis club, but more of a sports club where they had 3 all weather tennis courts, basketball fields, football fields, etc. Two guys were playing tennis, so I did stay to watch. But I am now in search for another club, which I might have found. See link: www.elcasco.com However, the membership costs €600,00!!

Btw, let me tell you a little more about my roommates. I mentioned I have 4 roommates, however we have only 4 bedrooms. I already mentioned Robbert. He is a Dutch guy doing the same studies as I am, but already a fourth year student. He will be leaving the first of September, and then I will get his room (as I am now sleeping in a storage room so to say). In the room with the nicest view lives Scott, a 64-year-old American. He is a writer, and working on a book right now. Nice guy! Then there is a girl from Italy, Diana, who I do not see that often because she works, but not at the costumed times. And then you have the daughter of the house mom, Heather, who sleeps on the couch with her dog. If I am correct, when I get Robbert’s room, she will get mine. The house mom (Josefa, 51) is over at our house a lot! She is really nice, and tries to be a mom for everyone. So that is fun!

My weekend overall was quite the same. Came out of bed around 11, ate breakfast on the balcony, did some reading, wandered around and went to the beach. Just lovely! Haha. Usually before coming home I go by the supermarket and buy some food for dinner. Up to now just simple stuff. Don’t really feel like cooking yet ;) Saturday evening I watched a movie with my ‘mom’ (Josefa) and ‘dad’ (Scott), ate watermelon, had a good time! Today I went to a church, which I found through Internet. The church, instead of being in the morning, started at 4 in the afternoon! Great time, so I am still able to sleep in late ;) On the Internet it said it was an international church, however, it was more a Philippine church! So the service was giving part in English and part in Philippine. Was funny to hear, because for example, the first couple of songs I did not understand for a bit! However, the sermon was understandable . As the church finished at 18:30 they had dinner for us there. Philippine food, which was quite nice, but very sweet! My ‘mom’ and ‘dad’ went with me and are planning on joining me again next week.

I added some pictures of the view, work, beach, church and more. Hope you’ll enjoy and you’ll hear from me soon again!

Bye!



  • 17 Augustus 2008 - 20:12

    Gemma:

    wat leuk dat t je zo goed bevalt tnt. ook erg fijn dat je met je huisgenoten op kan schieten. ben benieuwd naar de foto's, maar daar wachten we nog ff op begrijp ik. Succes vd week weer met werken.

    groetjes

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 06:31

    Ben:

    Hoi D., ik heb het idee dat jij het daar wel gaat uithouden. Als je tijd over hebt kun je altijd nog dat busje wassen!

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 08:17

    Anna:

    Looks great!

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 08:30

    Saskia:

    Ha Dees,

    Top dat je het naar je zin hebt daar. Maar het is wel belachelijk dat je 600 euro moet betalen om lid te worden van een tennisclub. Wat hebben ze daar dan voor bijzondere faciliteiten? Dan valt de contributie hier nog mee ;-). Have fun.

    Grtz, Saskia

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 09:36

    RdP:

    Your fruitaddiction can be satisfied I see:)

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 10:35

    Miranda:

    Fijn om te horen dat je het naar je zin hebt. Erg leuk om het zo allemaal te lezen. groetjes,
    miranda

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 14:59

    Annemarie:

    Hey meis! Leuk om je verhalen te lezen. Blijf genieten. Dikke knuffel, Annemarie

  • 19 Augustus 2008 - 14:05

    Claudia:

    Hey des,

    Nice to hear that you are enjoying Marbella! I just came back from Barcelona, I was close.. anyways I will keep on reading ur messages and njoy!! xoxo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Desire

Actief sinds 11 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 97
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22701

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 30 Maart 2014

Guatemala 2014

12 Januari 2013 - 24 Maart 2013

Guatemalan adventures

14 Augustus 2009 - 20 Januari 2010

Study Abroad USA

12 Augustus 2008 - 03 Februari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: