News after a small 4 weeks - Reisverslag uit Muncie, Verenigde Staten van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu News after a small 4 weeks - Reisverslag uit Muncie, Verenigde Staten van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu

News after a small 4 weeks

Door: Desire

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Desire

17 September 2009 | Verenigde Staten, Muncie

It has been a little over 3 weeks since my last blog, and in this period a lot has happened. Far starters, classes have started. I do have to admit that getting registered for the right (read classes RBS (Rotterdam Business school) would approve) classes was quite a hassle. There were a lot of classes I at first was allowed to following, however a couple of these classes (such as Internet marketing, and, Product Management) were not available this semester. Others, I was not allowed to take because it would not match the RBS curriculum, right.. This was for e.g. Advertising management and a communications class. Eventually I got more pushed into the direction of strategy and research – courses I had no affinity with at all! But I think I got pushed in this direction for a reason. And now, after 4 weeks of classes, I can say that I am very much enjoying the classes. My classes are the following:

1. MGT 301 - International Management
2. MKG 491 - Business Policy & Strategic Management
3. MKG 350 – Marketing Research
4. MKG 480 - Marketing Strategy
5. MKG 470 - International Marketing

BSU recommended to only take 4 courses, as that is already a full workload, however the RBS made me take 5 courses, which is a lot of work, which I think they do not realize. For every class you have to read a lot, make assignments and study, because they will give you quizzes when you don’t expect it! It was something to get used to, but I think it is ok now.

As for the level of education, I think it differs per teacher. Some classes are very good, interesting and useful, however others are a repetition of what I have already done back home. However, it is funny to now see the material from an American perspective. That is completely different! O yes, in one of the classes, we have to study the world map. We are starting with Europe - easy style! However, our teacher asked us (the Europeans (German girl, Swedish guy, and us three Dutch girls (the 2 Dutch girls are from the RBS as well, but study IBL, for those who don’t know, that is International Business and Languages) if the Ukraine and Turkey were part of Europe! OMG(oodness)!! Also, I know I should not laugh about this, because it is actually very sad, but a girl in that class asked where Africa was! If it was were Africa was or where South America was!! OMG! So I think instead of starting with Europe, I think it would have been wiser to start with continents, lol!

Sports I have done a lot. I play tennis, swim and go to the gym. Unfortunately I am not playing with my own racket, because after playing my boyfriend for 5 minutes, my strings broke! GREAT! Now I’m playing with his, which isn’t bad either! I play Lucie (French girl) for fun, but Jordan (the boyfriend) will train me. So girls (talking to my tennis team now) I will get my training, so looking forward to a good season for when I come back ;)!

Activities we do a lot. Mostly with the students from out building, which is a mix from the Netherlands, UK, Scandinavia, Asia, America, Germany, Malta and India. So it is a lot of fun! Last we went to a chocolate factory and to the dunes near Michigan lake, we go to the movies (because they play new releases for free on campus –SCORE), play sports, go party, hang out, and more. So I can say, it is never a dull day here!

We also went to a pep rally, where all freshmen went, and also the internationals. There we were introduced to the coaches of the sports teams, the band (who played the BSU flight song) and the cheerleaders. We were also obligated to learn the fight song. Fun!

Fight team, fight for Ball State;
We must win this game.
Onward, now you Cardinals,
Bring glory to your name!
FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!
Here’s to both your colors –
Cardinal and White,
Praying for a victory-
So, FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

O and we also went to a college Football game. Don’t know why I forgot to tell you that, because it was actually quite impressive! Everybody was dressed in red and black (BSU colors) and were very enthusiastic! The band performed as well. However, now I remember the reason for forgetting this. The first game on their own terrain, THEY LOST! They were bad!! :D And unfortunately, the second match they lost as well.. GO BSU! Haha :D

Church (Glad Tidings - www.munciegt.org) and the small group (women only) with CRU (that is a Christian sorority) are very nice! Met nice people there, and will be also doing activities with them, but these are still to come!

Well, keeping it short for now, but will write again soon. I promise..

Bye!


  • 17 September 2009 - 16:07

    Charlotte:

    International House Of Pancakes!!! :D Delicious!

    Please be carefull at that place ;-)

    Bye!


  • 17 September 2009 - 16:39

    Saskia:

    Ha Desire,

    Nice blog. It's fun to hear about your stay at BSU and good that you are having tennislessons ;-). I'm in the USA now too (California at the moment) and it's a great country. Nice and friendly people. Have fun and love to hear more from you.

    Bye bye, Saskia

  • 23 September 2009 - 19:01

    Marjolijn:

    Hey meissie!
    Ik ben net terug van vakantie. We zijn lekker naar zuid-frankrijk geweest. Vandaag samen met Nicole de eerste tennisles gehad. Die viel best tegen. Hoezo slechte conditie. Dus je zult ook versteld staan van onze tenniskunsten straks hahaha.
    Have Fun
    Liefs

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Desire

Actief sinds 11 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 167
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22691

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 30 Maart 2014

Guatemala 2014

12 Januari 2013 - 24 Maart 2013

Guatemalan adventures

14 Augustus 2009 - 20 Januari 2010

Study Abroad USA

12 Augustus 2008 - 03 Februari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: