September - Noverber - Reisverslag uit Muncie, Verenigde Staten van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu September - Noverber - Reisverslag uit Muncie, Verenigde Staten van Desire Heemst - WaarBenJij.nu

September - Noverber

Door: Desire

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Desire

12 November 2009 | Verenigde Staten, Muncie

It has been quite a while since my last blog. I do have the feeling I open with this sentence almost every time I write something again. But it is true though, because my last blog was in September and it is November now. Sorry about that!

Several things took place in this period. I had a lot of tough exams, was an interviewee for a girl who had to write a paper on an international student (on which she got an A!), helped decorating the Hall for Home coming week, went to Chicago, had my family come over for a week, had some fun parties, and met my family in law.

Classes have been going well so far. I passed all my exams with mostly As and a couple of Bs, however, for some classes it is almost impossible not to get an A, because it is quite easy. From the 5 classes I have, I am enjoying Marketing Research, Marketing Strategy, and Business Policy and Strategic Management. These are classes I have the feeling I am actually am learning something. However, this does not mean it is simple. The two last classes are actually quite difficult! The other two classes are more repetition of what I already had.

A girl I met at the beginning of the year needed to do a paper on an international student for her English class. So she thought of me, and I was being nice and willing to help, so let her interview me. The questions were not very much different from what the teachers ask me in class; why did I come here? Am I enjoying BSU so far? What do I like most about BSU? What do I think of the teaching? What are some differences between the Netherlands and America? What will I miss when I leave, etc. I read the final draft and it looked really good! So yes she deserved an A on her paper :)

Chicago was a lot of fun. We went with 7 people in total. Jordan was able to lend his dad’s van, so we would all fit in the car. The drive was 4 hours, and I sort of had to give directions, which unfortunately did not always go as well haha. BUT we made it though :D So that was good. We had booked 2 hotel rooms, which had 2 very big beds, so we were able to share beds, which brought our costs down. All girls in one room, all guys in the other. So that worked out quite ok! We arrived on Friday afternoon, went to the Mall there, and when we got back home everyone fell a sleep as it was a 4-hour drive, and we left very very early! The next day we would go sight seeing. First we went to Millennium Park, which had some cool attributes. We also saw the Hancock Building and went up into the Sears Tower. That was pretty awesome! We went all the way up to enjoy the view. There were also little glass booths which you could stand in, and if you then would look down, you would feel like you were floating! Quite cool! The Sears Tower took up quite some time with regard to waiting time, so after that we did a little bit more shopping, went for dinner and went back home. The next day we left to go home. Yes Chicago was indeed a lot of fun!

Last week my family came to visit me! Just like they did in Spain, so that was really nice. I knew they couldn’t do without me :D My parents did some hotel hopping but eventually ended up in a nice hotel not to far away from campus. And as I wouldn’t be getting a room mate anymore, my brother stayed with me. The first weekend, we had breakfast at IHOP (how I love that place!) and went to a football match. Jordan came along, which came in handy as he could explain the game to them; I know I sure couldn’t have! I just see guys in tights running with a ball and trying to beat each other down haha! We also did some sightseeing around campus, which they very much enjoyed. What they also realized is that it is no way as like home. During the week I had to go to my classes and my parents and brother were able to entertain themselves. They even went to Indy (WITHOUT ME! :( lol) One day, I will go there. But hey, I saw Chicago, they unfortunately did not (SCORE for me!). They were only here for a short period, but very much enjoyed having them here and meeting my boyfriend and friends (at least a couple of them). And what was also great, they brought me Sinterklaas candy!!! :D

Before Jordan met my parents, I met his. Was quite nervous about it, but it ended up being not that bad at all. I very much like his mom, as she is spontaneous and easy to talk to. His dad is a little more serious, so think I have to see him a bit more often to get to know him a little better. And his brother is quite shy, so haven’t really been able to talk to him (for the people who watch the Big Bang Theory, I think he would fit the character of Razh, lol), but he is a nice guy.

Further plans, for my time here; For Thanksgiving I will join Jordan, Benny, and Clifford to Jordan’s hometown. Have already been there once, but now will be there for 5 days. Very much looking forward to it. After that I probably will be busy with classed, exams, assignments etc, but will make some time to go city tripping. And then when I finish this semester, Jordan and I will go to New York for Christmas and New Years! That is going to be a great trip and experience, and can’t wait to go!

As for the people who knew I was considering staying in the US and graduating here; no worries, I am going home. Too much hassle if I wanted to stay. So, girls, I will be home for the tennis season after all! ;)

Pictures of my adventures will be posted a little later, because I have no pictures space left.

I will close by saying you will not hear from me soon, but you WILL hear from me before I leave :D

Bye!

Ps. for those who have Facebook, all pictures are posted there. For those who don't, they will have to wait a little :)

  • 12 November 2009 - 17:12

    Annemarie:

    Fijn om weer op de hoogte te zijn. :) Ik ga je missen morgen op de Para-oud-ledenborrel. X

  • 12 November 2009 - 20:08

    Saskia:

    Leuk weer wat van je te horen!!! En IHOP is inderdaad erg smakelijk, alleen niet zo goed voor de lijn hahahaha. Veel plezier nog en tot snel.

  • 12 November 2009 - 22:21

    Mommy:

    Ok! you hit 'it' right on the nose! "WE CAN'T DO WITHOUT YOU!"

    love ya! xxxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Desire

Actief sinds 11 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 132
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22695

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 30 Maart 2014

Guatemala 2014

12 Januari 2013 - 24 Maart 2013

Guatemalan adventures

14 Augustus 2009 - 20 Januari 2010

Study Abroad USA

12 Augustus 2008 - 03 Februari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: